About Us


Welcome to Armadale Bowls Club located in the sports’ precinct of Princes Park, Caulfield South. We are steeped in history having celebrated our 130 years milestone in 2018.

We are a strong club of nearly 250 members, participating in competitive and/or social bowls. We play both Midweek (Tuesday) and Weekend (Saturday) pennant from October to March. Social games are played on Wednesday afternoons throughout the year.

Bowls is a game like no other. We have members ranging in age from mid-20’s to mid-90’s. Bowls caters for players of any level of sporting background and prowess and for those who have not played sport at all. It is an individual and a team sport catering for players of all abilities. We are a social club both on and off the green.

Our modern clubhouse has a bar which is open during all competitive and social matches. Our clubhouse is also available to hire for both private and corporate events and functions and can accommodate up to 180 guests.

We are also available to host your social or corporate barefoot bowls events.

Not sure whether bowls is for you? Just come along and have some fun any Sunday morning from 10.00 – 12.00. Our friendly coaches will be there to introduce you to the game. Bowls are provided for learners.

For any further information, please contact secretary@armadalebowlsclub.com.au


Board of Management:
 Michael Shapiro
 Vice President:
  Helen Basist
  Mandy Shochet Contact
  Nathan Kamien
 Immediate Past President:
  Jack Cooper

General Representatives:
 Janice Broder
 Ben Czerniewicz
 Mervyn Meltz
 Alan Chanesman

Board Appointments
 Hon Solicitor: Sam Recht
 Auditor: Lowe Lippmann   Chartered   Accountants
 Hon Public Officer: Mandy Shochet
Investment Fund Committee
 David Franks (Chair)

 Martin Bloch
 Nathan Kamien
 Arnold Shloshberg

Sandbelt Bowls Region:
 Club Representative:
 Roger Lewis
 Tournaments: Janice Broder

 Bowls Committee
  Alan Chanesman (Chair)
  Sid Buchbinder
  Murray Caplan
  Cris Ellis
  David Kweitel
  David Popper

Mid-Week Selection Committee:
  Di Grosberg (Chair)
  Sue Hofbauer
  Ruth Maserow
  Nancy Wicks
  David Weiner

Weekend Selection Committee:
  Nathan Simon (Chair)
  Xavier Cerreto
  David Janover
  David Kweitel
  Robyne Schwarz AM

Social Bowls:
  David Janover (Chair)
  David Kweitel
  David Winestone
  Fred Wurzel

  David Kweitel (Chair)
  Cris Ellis
  Ross Maver

Club Sub-Committees 
 Almoner: Ben Czerniewicz
 Bar: Xavier Cerreto, Ben Czerniewicz
 Barefoot Bowls: Jeff Needham
 Catering (Chairs): Marcelle Karro, Beryl Levin
 Coaching Co-ordinator: David Weiner 
 Communications: Bernie Gold OAM
 Constitution: Joe Shneider OAM, Morris Broder
 Fixture Book: Di Grosberg
 Greens: Jack Cooper, Ken Rosengarten
 Hall Bookings: Nanette Cooper 
 Health & Safety: Ben Czerniewicz
 House & Grounds: Yuri Zefira
 Information Technology: Ross Maver
 Major Events: Danny Miller 
 Membership: Janice Broder, Mervyn Meltz
 Pennant Catering:
  Michelle Arrowsmith, Helen Basist, Janet Krapes
  Nathan Simon, Sid Buchbinder, Larraine Czerniewicz
 Providor: Di Grosberg
 Social Events Chair: Greg Murrihy
 Sponsorship, Grants: Jack Cooper & Rob Millingen
 Trophies: Leon Cohen
 Uniforms: Helen Basist, Issy Lieberthal

Mentorship Program:
 Cris Ellis (Chair)
 Rose-Marie Todes
 David Weiner

 Geoff Maskell (Head Coach)
 Sid Buchbinder
 Gaby Cohen
 Leon Cohen
 Hunny Lipson
 Barry Wicks

National Umpires
David Kinston
 Barrie Rimer
 Freda Shapiro
 Mandy Shochet
 Martin Simon
 Nathan Simon
 Barry Wicks

Life Members
 Lionel Aarons
 Mel Barnett OAM
 Gaby Cohen
 Leon Cohen
 Harry Hertz
 Norma Hertz
 Elaine Kovkin
 Hunny Lipson
 Danny Miller
 Les Newman
 Ken Rosengarten
 Zara Simon
 Rose-Marie Todes